A Weekend with Etta James

Etta James… so many things I can say about this adorable pup! She is sweet, silly, happy, lovable, cuddle bug… an actual angel. Absolutely nothing bad to say about this dog.

For the whole weekend, I got to snuggle, eat snacks, nap, and play with a pup who couldn’t stop smiling and wagging her tail.

Etta James has been through the worst of the worst and still… she has this joy in her heart that she has to spread to those around her. Sweet Etta had her leg amputated and has to hop around with only three legs. She has tumors all over her and is suffering from mass cell cancer. She doesn’t have a lot of time left, and while it breaks my heart and I hate this for her, she still keeps going. She doesn’t dwell on the sad parts of her life, and instead, she gets excited about everything.

Her face when she hears someone in the kitchen

She lives to hear the fridge opening. Her ears go all the way up and she listens so intently, hoping for a snack of any kind. Mom got her chicken nuggets from McDonalds, gave her cheese crackers, and we made her eggs. She had cheese bacon flavored dog ice cream and doggie cookies too. She was eating to her hearts content and nothing less the entire weekend (she also couldn’t stop passing gas lol).

And what’s so adorable… she loves to lay in your arms and be pet endlessly. She requires lots of pampering and I have no problem giving her all the snuggles. If anyone deserves it, it’s Etta James!

Mom and I even got to take her for a car ride to say hi to my grandma and go for a ride in the PetSmart cart around the store and outside in the parking lot, taking in the fresh air. It was one of the best weekends I have had in a long time. I wish I could permanently foster her, but unfortunately, no one in my family is home all day to do so.

Etta needs someone home for the most part to help in case she needs it… especially with moving around. It’s so hard for her hopping around on the three legs with her little body. She is such a trooper though!

I will be taking Etta for many weekends coming up. I plan on giving her as much love as I can and picking her up just about every week for as many days I can be home with her. I want to give her so much attention. She needs and deserves it. I will do everything I can for this sweet, kindhearted animal with the biggest heart.

Thank you Emma and Sedona for sending miss Etta James my way. 🙂

One thought on “A Weekend with Etta James

Leave a comment