Sometimes We Meet Special People

Describe a random encounter with a stranger that stuck out positively to you.

I’ve interacted with so many interesting people over the years from working in customer service. But, I can remember one instance, I was working at Sketchers, and this older lady needed help finding good-quality shoes.

The lady needed shoes that could slip on easy and be comfortable to walk around in. I showed her our hands free slip-in sneakers. They’re expensive, but I even tried a pair on one time, and it’s a great shoe (I should have bought a pair myself). Anyway, you know why she was getting the shoes? She had breast cancer and was getting surgery in a few days for a double mastectomy.

I felt sorry for her. I can’t imagine going through that, no matter what age. She had such strength in her. She wasn’t crying or getting upset (which would have been completely understandable). No, she was smiling and content and just wanted a good pair of shoes. She thanked me and found another pair she liked better in another section of the store.

It amazes me that she had strength and didn’t crumble. She found her shoes and was grateful I took the time to shop around, ask her questions, and stay by her side, helping her out.

You never know what someone is going through. Even if you can help out in a small way, like helping someone find shoes… it makes a difference.

This lady affected me. It was about a year ago, and I still think about how she had the strength to remain content and accept what was happening to her. Now maybe she got upset behind closed doors… maybe… but I saw this look in her eyes that day. It was this look that showed everything would be OK… whatever happened.

It reminds me to be positive and have faith even in the darkest moments of my life.

One thought on “Sometimes We Meet Special People

Leave a comment