Self-Care = A Must after Wisdom Teeth Removal Surgery

Last week I had to get all four of my wisdom teeth removed. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. I got very sick from the anesthesia. Could barely walk to the car and hold myself up. Threw up and let’s just say – the whole experience wasn’t fun and far from a walk in the park. Not to mention, I had bad anxiety in the first place over this being the first time I ever had surgery. I started off super stressed and it only escalated from there.

I spent the entire week in bed trying to recover. I still can’t believe my dentist told me wisdom teeth surgery is no big deal (LIAR). I’m just FINALLY starting to be able to eat real food again. I was in so much pain, all I could do was sleep and eat mashed potatoes and vanilla ice cream. Every time I tried to eat anything else, all it did was make things worse. Did I mention all my teeth would ache for hours?? It felt like someone was punching me in the face over and over again. Needless to say, getting your wisdom teeth removed is no joke. After the week I’ve had, I am so glad it’s all over with and how I’m finally starting to feel like myself again and eat pretty much normal again.

Self-Care Tips for Those Recovering from the Aftermath of Wisdom Teeth Surgery

1) If you can, rest as much as possible (all the medicine will pretty much knock you out anyway TBH).

2) Rinse with salt water after every meal (but not until 24 hours after surgery).

3) Ice packets on your mouth and jaw area do wonders

4) Pick a show on Netflix and binge watch – helps take your mind off things

5) Don’t forget to take the medicine your dentist prescribes you. Set an alarm and take it exactly when you’re supposed to (believe me, missing it can make it 10x worse).

6) Eat lots of ice cream. The cold feels so good and really helps you deal with the pain.

7) Cuddle with your pet! Snuggles with my Sedona Baby have made me happy and helped the recovery process a lot.

8) Obviously stay away from anything crunchy and hard (soft food only – mashed potatoes, eggs, soups, ice cream)

9) Don’t drink with a straw for at least a week

10) Massage your jaw

11) No hot food (lukewarm or cold only)

12) Have someone wait on you hand and foot (THANK YOU MOM FOR TAKING CARE OF ME). Trust me, you won’t want to do too much with the pain coming and going constantly.

If you haven’t had your wisdom teeth taken out yet, good luck! I hope you don’t have the same experience I did!

2 thoughts on “Self-Care = A Must after Wisdom Teeth Removal Surgery

Leave a comment