They Mer-Maid for Each Other – M&M Wedding 04/10/21

#Merbride #Merbridesmaid

Here Comes the Bride

04.10.21 – My best/dearest friend got married this past weekend, and it was beautiful and enchanting from start to finish! Mel married the love of her life, Mike, and from the moment I saw her walk down the aisle to say “I do,” there were tears of joy and smiles all around the chapel. Mike teared up the most, as soon as he saw her in her elegant white gown, walking down the aisle with her dad. It was so sweet the way he looked at her. I always love watching the groom’s reaction when they see the bride (it’s my favorite thing about weddings).

It was an honor to be Mel’s bridesmaid and a part of her special day that felt like a mix of Taylor Swift and Beauty and the Beast vibes (literally everything about it was wonderful). From getting our nails done to hair and makeup and riding in the limo, dancing the night away and eating delicious food…I HAD THE BEST TIME EVER!

Every girl needs to be a bridesmaid at least once in their lifetime. Why? Because you get to have way too much fun preparing for the day and hanging out with the bride and fellow bridesmaids!

The squad

Not gonna lie, I’m not a fan of public speaking and not a big fan of public walking either (I figured out my fear of public walking after walking down the aisle with over 100 people staring at me). Yes, I made the mistake of looking at the people gazing back at me (that was probably a bad idea). But, I made it through, despite the nerves and being the first bridesmaid to walk down the aisle.

Once I got past that part, I was fine! I then got to watch two people head over heels in love profess their adoration for each other in front of all their friends and family (talk about romantic). It was beautiful hearing just how much they care about each other and promise to cherish one another forever, no matter what (pretty sure God was smiling down on them as they said “I do”).

Wedding & A Mini Vacay?

That’s right, ya girl traveled all the way from AZ to NJ just to help make Mel & Mike’s wedding day one for the books! I traveled by myself (took connecting flights – stress level 1,000), and stayed in a hotel alone and basically had an adventure! The flights were a little stressful, but I got to see a glimpse of Charlotte, North Carolina, so that was pretty cool! Also, it’s always exciting for me to look out the plane window at the pretty blue skies and clouds and how everything on the ground looks so tiny (guess that’s why I always pick the window seat). Aside from the plane rides, relaxing in the hotel in my silk robe and coffee in hand was the ultimate self-care that I didn’t even know I needed (gotta treat yourself once in awhile).

Bridesmaid on Duty

Boy, I almost cried when I got my makeup and hair done! I have never felt that pretty ever before in my life (not be dramatic or anything). I felt so glamorous the whole day! Which is another reason to LOVE being a bridesmaid. You get to feel beautiful from head to toe for a whole day in your dress, high heels, and hair and makeup done (BUT NOT AS FABULOUS AS THE BRIDE OF COURSE).

Mel looked like a queen and honestly, that’s probably why Mike teared up as soon as he saw the beautiful bride (pretty much why everyone teared up).

Friends since teenagers!

I haven’t been a part of a wedding party since the 2000’s (I was a flower girl back in like 2005). So, being a part of this wedding was a big thing for me! I still remember the day Mel asked me. When a package from her arrived in the mail, she told me specifically, “Don’t open it until we FaceTime.” I knew something was up after she said that. When we FaceTimed, I open a box with a face mask that read, “Bridesmaid” sitting in it. I obviously screamed and jumped up in excitement.

It was such an honor and a privilege to have been Mel’s bridesmaid and to be a part of one of the best days of her life. I’m so grateful for a friendship like ours. I’ve known Mel since we were just starting college and now we’re both graduated and starting new chapters in our lives. It’s crazy how quickly time flies and how much can happen over years. I love knowing that despite the distance of living in states miles and miles away, she’ll always be a very important person in my life. Mel, if you’re reading this, just know you’re stuck with me for life!

I missed the rain

It was a very short trip but 110% worth it! I enjoyed every second spent in my favorite state, the place I’ll always call home.

Congrats again, Mel and Mike! Wishing you only the best!

And Jersey, I’ll be back again in the near future! I have to come back to see all my favorite people and get a pork roll sandwich (obviously)!

2 thoughts on “They Mer-Maid for Each Other – M&M Wedding 04/10/21

  1. So happy for you on your mini vacation and celebrating a wonderful event. You, bride and all the bridesmaids looked beautiful. Well written, as usual. Love, Bebe

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your blog (as always) . So glad I got to see all the pictures of Mel,s wedding. You always do a great job. Love you Gi Gi

    Like

Leave a comment