Loving Love

I love love. I have always looked at Valentine’s Day as more than just a cheesy, romantic holiday. Yes, I do adore romance and will cry over a Nicholas Sparks film (no shame), but that’s okay! Why shouldn’t I love love?? I can’t help it. I love seeing the guy end up with the girl and they live happily ever after. I love the warmness and hallmark vibe of it all. Let’s just say, February 14th is one of my top favorite holidays (don’t judge, even though I know you are). But, I have to also say this.. there’s more than the cute, cheesy feeling V-Day gives me..

First off, just because I’m single, does not mean I can’t enjoy a day filled with hearts, chocolate, rom coms, teddy bears, etc. I will always adore Feb 14th, because it’s more than couples head over heels in love with each other. It’s about taking time to remind yourself that love is beautiful in so many special, unique ways.

As a Christian, Valentine’s Day is a day to remember Jesus Christ and how he willingly died on the cross for the sins of everyone, all because he LOVED us so much (if you haven’t read John 3:16 in the Bible, I suggest you look it up). If Jesus sacrificing his life to save the world is not the greatest love story of all, then I don’t know what is.

Valentine’s Day is also to show family, friends, and pets how much they mean to you. I got my mom a gift card to Chick-fil-A, (I know, I’m the best daughter out there 😉 ) because I wanted to do something nice for her. It was a small act of kindness, and yet, it made her feel appreciated. My mom didn’t care how much I spent or what I got her, but rather the thought I put into to expressing how important she is to me, today and everyday.

It’s a day to give the pets in your life an extra cookie or slice of cheese (I gave Emma cheese and some of my egg this morning. Let me tell you, she was one happy camper). It’s a day to call your Grandma or Grandpa, listening to them tell stories from the past, and tell them about your day (I love talking to my Gigi, whether it’s hearing about her drive-in movie dates..back in the 1950’s, or discussing what happened on our tv shows).

It’s a day to treat yourself. Buy that dress you’ve been checking out in Marshall’s. Spend $5 on a Starbucks drink. Eat a 1,000 calorie cookie. Watch a romantic comedy (while eating that 1,000 calorie cookie and drinking the over priced Starbucks drink). Take a bubble bath. Be happy and throw kindness around like confetti. Because ultimately, Valentine’s Day should be about appreciating God’s unending love for us, making your people and your pets feel special, and giving yourself some love.

See, February 14th can be celebrated by anyone, single or taken..but especially by us single folks. Be willing to see Valentine’s Day for what it truly is, and that’s when you’ll start to enjoy it. I will always celebrate this holiday, because it’s loving love and all it stands for. Appreciate love, people. Appreciate it.

With one final note..

Here’s a few of my favorite quotes about love..❤

“And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.” – 1 Corinthians 13:13

“So it’s not going to be easy. It’s gonna be really hard. We’re gonna have to work at this every day, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you. Forever. You and me..everyday.” -The Notebook

“Love is like the wind, you can’t see it but you can feel it.” – A Walk to Remember

“How do you spell love?” – Piglet

“You don’t spell it. You feel it.”- Winnie the Pooh

Leave a comment